Please…

Please….don’t call me dear…all it does is break my heart….
I wish I could be better for you
Prettier
Thinner
More of all the things I’m not….

Your eyes are the perfect blue of winter skies on a clear cold day…
your smile moonlight on a midnight lake
Your hands the strength of granite stones
Mine are the green of prairie grass in the spring…my hair sunlit wheat
My hills roll on for miles, soft and sweet
Together we would make the world…

But you want a girl slender as a sapling
Dark as the earth
And as sweet as honey

None of that will ever be me.

So please
Don’t call me dear…
I break my heart just fine alone…

Leave a Reply

